Partners in local transport

The Rhine Main Transport Association (RMV) has existed since 1994 and is a union of 15 districts and 11 towns and cities. By law, it has the responsibility for local rail traffic and bus traffic within the area covered by the Association. This region has an overall area of 14,000 square kilometres and around 5 million inhabitants. To carry out these tasks, the participating districts and towns/cities founded the Rhein-Main-Verkehrsbund GmbH together with the state of Hesse.

As one of the districts administered in its own right, the city of Frankfurt am Main is also a shareholder in this limited liability company. As a strong partner, Frankfurt contributes the Verkehrsgesellschaft Frankfurt am Main mbH (VGF). VGF is the largest transport company in Hesse, transporting more than 150 million passengers every year. Consequently, all the underground routes, scheduled public transport buses and suburban railways belong to the association of the RMV.